Board of Supervisors

Board Members 2021

About the Board

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body for Rockingham County. The board is comprised of five members, one from each of the magisterial districts, who serve four-year terms. Each year a new Chairman and Vice Chairman are selected. The County follows the county-administrator form of government. The board approves the annual budget, sets the tax rate, enacts ordinances, and sets policy in accordance with all local, state, and federal laws.

The board is committed to providing the highest quality of services efficiently and effectively to Rockingham County citizens.

District 1

  • Supervisor: Dewey L. Ritchie  (Chair)
  • Includes: Towns of Broadway and Timberville and the communities of Fulks Run, Bergton, Criders, Lacey Spring, and Tenth Legion 

District 3

  • Supervisor: Rick Chandler
  • Includes: Town of Grottoes and communities of Melrose, Keezletown, Massanetta Springs, Cross Keys, Port Republic, and a portion of Penn Laird 

District 5

  • Supervisor:  Joel Hensley
  • Includes: Town of Elkton and the communities of McGaheysville, Massanutten, Stony Run, Swift Run, South Fork, and a portion of Penn Laird

District 2

  • Supervisor: Sallie Wolfe-Garrison
  • Includes: Town of Dayton and the communities of Singers Glen, Edom, Linville, Mt. Clinton, Silver Lake, and a portion of Hinton

District 4

  • Supervisor: William B. Kyger Jr. (Vice-Chair) 
  • Includes: Towns of Bridgewater and Mount Crawford, the North River area, and the communities of Briery Branch, Montezuma, Pleasant Valley, Ottobine, and a portion of Hinton