Community Development

The department of Community Development is responsible for reviewing, developing, and enforcing plans that reflect the County's interest in the preservation of the environment, the provision of efficient public facilities and services, the provision of diverse housing opportunities, and the effective utilization of the County's land resources. The department is comprised of four divisions, Building, Zoning, Planning, and GIS, that work closely to help ensure that structures, buildings, and sites are safe, contribute to the community’s sustainability, adhere to the County’s ordinance, and represent the aesthetic and spirit of Rockingham County’s Comprehensive Plan.